top of page
  • Neyat Tesfay

Different way; a look into the differences, Day 6

We started off our day by visiting Hospital São Paulo. We got a tour of the facility along with the deep enriched history and got to learn about the health care system here in Brazil; called SUS which is free universal healthcare for all people regardless of your economic status. SUS also offers free healthcare to foreigners such as myself. The hospital here seems to have so much potential for growth  and expansion, along with possible hiring opportunities for people working more on the management side, as said by one of the doctors, it’s vital that they have the appropriate people in place to help manage, the doctor quoted it’s been hard to essentially manage all of the things within the hospital and stay up to date with technology etc. as physicians they’re main focus is the health of individuals but they shouldn’t be in management positions and in roles that require more of the financial knowledge. Hearing all of the information provided regarding this topic helped broaden my view and has shown me that there is alot of opportunity in working in management and finance in the healthcare sector. We then went to lunch at Rosa Grill, the food was fantastic, I find we’ve been eating a lot of the regular food I typically eat on a day to day basis as a vegetarian, they’d had a lot of vegetarian friendly food! Which I’ve been absolutely loving!!! We then headed to the Parque Ibirapuera/Ibirapuera Park, which is known as the “Central Park of Brazil” according to my Brazilian friends! The park was so big and beautiful, they had a music school, museum, cycling area for rent, snack shops, etc. there was so much todo! Last but not least we ended the night at Casa De Liege, I had such a wonderful time from laughing with the Trade commissioner and taking pictures to having a delicious dinner and lastly learning to samba dance with my brizilian friends, as they taught me how to Samba dance to the music! Today was a great day filled with so much joy!! I look forward to going to another Samba club soon and practicing my dance moves! ❤️ additionally I hope to learn to never take anything for granted and showing more gratitude for my doctors and the Canadian hospitals I’ve had the privilege of staying in, we don’t tend to realize just how lucky we are to have the healthcare and system that we do, to protect ourselves or ensure we take preventative measures.



19 views

Recent Posts

See All

Until we meet again

Brace yourselves, this may be a long one... To think that we've already been in Brazil for over a week, even typing this sentence feels...

Final day

On our last day, we visited Porto de Santos, the largest port in Latin America. We were able to visit the museum and found various old...

Comments


bottom of page